#25 From Pritha to Demi

Dear Demi Lovato,

My name is Pritha (pronounced Preeta)and I am a 16 year old girl (or should I say Lovatic? hehe) from Auckland in New Zealand. I have suffered from anorexia, depression and self harm, and I would not have been able to recover without you. You saved my life and I am so grateful to you. You have taught me how to love my body for the way it is, and that I “do not have to succumb to what other people want you to look like. It’s about accepting yourself, loving yourself, and being grateful.” You are the most inspirational role model anyone could ever have. If I ever think I can’t make it, I just think, ‘if Demi did it, I can do it’, and it honestly helps so much. I LOVE my body for what it is, and I now realise that I don’t have to be stick thin to be beautiful, and I can now look in the mirror and think, “I look beautiful today.” I wouldn’t have been able to do that without you. You are my Warrior Demi, and I can’t thank you enough :’)

But, what I really want to share with you is something I have recently completed, and something I am extremely proud of. I believe teenagers suffering from mental illnesses like eating disorders, depression, anxiety and many others are overlooked, and many of them are lying in hospital with no hope. I decided to do something to help. I love writing, and it is something that played a huge role with my own recovery. I decided to write a book of inspirational and hopeful poetry to donate to multiple inpatient units and adolescent mental health wards in Auckland. I called my book Standing in the Light, and I am so proud of it. It took me about 13 weeks to write, and I am overwhelmed with the feedback I have received from the hospitals, so much so, that I cried when reading what some of the clinicians were saying about it. I really feel like it is making a difference to people’s lives, and it is the most amazing feeling in the world. I also got to have a story in my local newspaper about the book and spreading awareness around mental health in teenagers. You were the inspiration for this project, Demi. I wanted to be like you, spreading the word and helping others who were once where I was. Publishing the book and having people read the poetry was an extremely hard thing for me to do, because it came straight from the heart and having others read it, particularly my family, made me feel naked. I know that’s how you feel with Warrior, and I am so proud of you for releasing that song- it is one of my favourites, and is my go-to when I’m struggling. I now understand my book is doing the same thing. By overcoming my own fears of being vulnerable, it is helping others, and it is so, so worth it. My greatest wish is to meet you and thank you for saving me, and also, my ultimate dream is for you to read my book, or even just a few of the poems. I would love to send a book to you, however I know it will probably never reach you. I just wanted to tell you how much of an inspiration you have been, and will forever be to myself and so many others all over the world. I’m staying strong for you Demi. And because of you, I have been able to do so many things with my life I never dreamed of doing. So thank you so, so much.

I love you more than anything.

Love,

Pritha

P.S. Please come to New Zealand some day! We all love you here ❤

Leave a Reply

